Brandy Dishman

Seeking a farm to lease with the purchase to buy, mentor-employee transfer option, or just available land to start farming. Open to farm operation type and location.

Contact Farmland Seeker

To protect the privacy of our users, contact information is only available to registered users who are logged in. Registration is quick, easy, and free.

Login | Create an Account

Location: Middle, Bedford, Cannon, Cheatham, Clay, Coffee, Davidson (Nashville), DeKalb, Dickson, Fentress, Franklin, Giles, Grundy, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson (Jackson), Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Macon, Marshall, Maury (Columbia), Montgomery (Clarksville), Moore, Overton, Perry, Pickett, Putnam (Cookeville), Robertson, Rutherford (Murfreesboro), Smith, Stewart, Sumner (Hendersonville), Trousdale, Van Buren, Warren, Wayne, White, Williamson (Franklin/Brentwood), Wilson

Total acres 50.0

Acres of cropland or tillable land 15.0

Acres of pasture 35.0

Acres of unfenced pasture 10.0

Looking for the following:

Type of opportunity:

Sale (Standard), Sale (Owner Financed), Lease (1 to 5 Years), Lease (5+ Years), Lease with Option to Buy, Internship / Mentorship, Incubator / Mentored Lease, Business Partnership, Employment, Employment with Transfer. More info: I am primarily focusing on a cut flower operation specializing in a limited number of hard to ship items I can market to florist and wholesale distributors. However, I want to be diversified in a type of smaller livestock such as hair sheep or feeder cattle also. I am still in the early stages of my business plan and open to other opportunities. I grew up on a farm which had to be sold, so I am passionate about this way of life and it's preservation. I also have a degree in agriculture from Tennessee Tech University.

Equipment & infrastructure:

Barn, Fencing, Well / Pond / Other water source, Greenhouse, Livestock facilities, Farmer housing, Farm equipment, Processing facilities, Irrigation equipment, Cold storage (cooler/freezer). More info: I don't require much infrastructure, but it would be helpful to have at least one type of storage building or barn and a tractor and bush hog along with housing, if available.

Current production on farm:

Aquaculture, Cattle (Dairy/Beef), Christmas trees, Fallow, Field crops, Flowers, Hay or pasture, Herbs, Hogs, Orchard, Poultry (Broiler/Layer), Sheep/Goat (Dairy/Meat), Vegetable production, Vineyard, Woodlot or forest products. More info: As mentioned above, I am in the early stages of planning and narrowing down my plan. I have put much thought into the direction I want to go, but I am open to different routes depending on what opportunities are available even aquaculture. I have a fruit/vegetable farm background but have also worked beef cattle and hogs on my uncle's farm next door. Currently, my husband is a farm hand on a bison operation in Kentucky.

Qualifications and goals:

Previous farming experience:

Volunteer, Employee

Number of years experience:

15

Other qualifications:

Higher education in agriculture or related field.

Production goals:

Aquaculture, Cattle (Dairy/Beef), Flowers, Hay or pasture, Herbs, Hogs, Poultry (Broiler/Layer), Sheep/Goat (Dairy/Meat), Vegetable production, Vineyard. More info: I primarily want to keep a family farm operational and profitable by using my degree and passion for agriculture in crops, livestock or a combination of both.

Personal experience and production goals summary:

Most recently, I moved from Nashville to Louisville in July 2013 with a job transfer. Since then, I have tried to find things to fill my time, but really miss being in Tennessee on the farm. I grew up working every year for my grandparents on their vegetable farm, so I definitely love, love, love being outside and getting dirty. In fact, one of my favorite things to do is weed! My ultimate dream is to have a specialty cut flower farm. 

In 2002, I earned a Bachelor of Science from Tennessee Technological University in Agriculture, Engineering Technology where I learned about farm machinery and many automated farm production methods. Then in 2004, I attended graduate school at North Carolina State University doing field research with weed control in sweet potato. However, three personal losses brought me back closer to family before I finished my degree including the loss of my grandfather to Alzheimer’s disease. I was his primary caretaker for nine months before attending graduate school. Currently, I am employed by the USDA-National Agricultural Statistics Service where I work in a multi-team setting with data and statistics.

My grandparents were my inspiration to follow my heart and work in the agriculture industry since my exposure to it at an early age. They had eighty acres of vegetables in southern middle Tennessee three mile north of the Alabama state line. A typical day in the summer was picking the sweet corn and watermelons in the morning until about 11:30. Then we (my grandfather, uncle and sister) would load the truck while my grandmother would rush off to cook dinner. After lunch and a quick shower, we all drove over to the main highway in front of my great-grandfather’s house where everything was sold until late afternoon. This location also happened to be next door to my childhood home where Mom would feed us supper, sweet tea and lemonade or dinner if we were rushed. Then around 5:30 the truck was packed up and went to pick cantaloupes and whatever was ready in the family garden. In the garden, my grandparents grew a little bit of everything each year to be “put up” in the freezer or canned for the pantry. It included onions, green beans, butter beans, October beans, squash, cucumbers, tomatoes, okra, bell peppers, pink-eyed purple hulled peas, cabbage, cauliflower and broccoli, turnip greens and peanuts. We also grew a lot of sweet potatoes which were sold on the farm or at farmers markets in the fall. Occasionally, they had pumpkins. Additionally my uncle raised hogs, field corn, and soybeans on my great-grandfather’s land after he retired from farming. In high school and one year of college my sister and I worked during the school year at a local garden center.